Melbourne

Melbourne

To my great relief, I recently recovered a few hundred photographs from some of my travels around Australia and Japan which I had long assumed to be lost.

This particular image was taken in 2008 in the city of Melbourne, Australia.

It was the height of the Australian summer and my second day in the city. I was surrounded by unfamiliar territory, and thousands of miles from anyone or anywhere I knew.

I aimlessly wondered through the new, bustling city, however it had been days since I had properly conversed with another person, save for a few hostel workers and cab drivers, and I was feeling isolated, lost and in a way intimidated.

Fortunately there was enough glimmering architecture and cultural intrigues to keep me occupied for a day or two, like the tallest building in the southern hemisphere, the Eureka Tower, which was adorned with a number of giant golden bees crawling over the exterior, and a troupe of painters rendering faces of celebrities and optical illusions into the pavements.

It was from this point that I took the picture. As one can see, the image has been heavily edited, mostly contrast and colouration adjustments, which has caused the picture to look as though it were taken at dusk, when in fact, it was the middle of the day. I like the results however and would love to know what you think.

There will probably be more rediscovered photographs to come.

Robby Cowell 2012

13 thoughts on “Melbourne

  1. I had a similar experience in Melbourne – literally 10,000 miles away from anyone I knew . It’s a great city though, and the view from the observation deck of those Rialto towers is spectacular.

  2. You have some very nice work man! Plus, I saw that in one of you post you spoke about not having anything better than your phone to shot with. However, your phone can be a very powerful camera. Many photographers are using their phones to capture great shots instead of setting up their cameras. Just keep it up.

    • Thanks man, appreciate the feedback! And yeah, I’m aware of the capabilities of phone cameras, and think a lot of shots work just fine with modern smart phone cameras. It’s just that a decent lens really does make a difference. Thanks a lot for stopping by!

  3. Melbourne is one of my very favourite cities and The Eureka Tower is probably my very favourite building – nicely captured, Robby! Thanks for sharing… and I love iPhoneography by the way, and plan to post about it soon!
    Susie

let me know what you think

