The Streets of Asakusa

Image

This shot was taken while making my way from the aged, crimson red temples of Sensō-ji. The pagodas reaching into a cloudless sapphire sky as an aggregation of incense swirled and permeated the crisp February air.

Surrounded by a mix of lives which so perfectly embody our age, I blended in with the western tourists as they perused the colourful and trivial market stalls selling all of the necessary oddities which the world identifies with Japan: rows of Daruma dolls stared blindly out at the intrigued and bustling crowds as traditional lanterns, play masks and chimes lightly danced in the breeze.

Pious Buddhists, fascinated tourists, market stall owners and school classes meandered their way through each other as the temples loomed above the store roofs as they had done for centuries before.

Having absorbed the unique atmosphere I made my way back to the tiny room I was renting at the time and, in a documentary fashion more than any, I photographed the street leading back there.

As is the case with many of my photographs, the image has been quite extensively re-colourised and refocused which strips the photograph’s original documentary intentions but results, in my opinion at least, in a more interesting and atmospheric image.

Hope you enjoy

Robby Cowell 2012

follow me! @RobbyCowell

 


15 thoughts on “The Streets of Asakusa

let me know what you think

