by the sounding sea

Image

My desire to leave the glare of computer monitors and history books became too strong to not be pacified. Grabbing my old point and shoot I headed through the city heading again towards the sea. The wind howled through the streets and smashed into the coast as the elderly staggered their way along the street. Viscous, tiny waves bombarded the concrete walls of the water features outside city hall and sea gulls were flung across the cloud splattered sky.

It wasn’t the best of shoots, having only taken about three acceptable photographs I forged my way back to the house. Initially this photograph didn’t strike me as having any potential, but after a bit of experimentation and four iterations of colour adjustments, I came up with this. Hope you enjoy.

18 thoughts on “by the sounding sea

  1. editing does wonders at times… it really brings out the color/texture of the photo. great shot! excellent writing as well.. it really painted a picture

  2. Hi Robby, many thanks for stopping by my blog and liking some of my stuff.

    Love this pic of yours. It has a dramatic feel to it. Looking up, the wheel makes you feel small, and then set against the stormy sky it looks even more imposing. Super!

  3. Possibly my favourite of your shots, the vividness of the colours and the clouds… the whole thing has a surreal quality that really looks amazing.
    Nice work!

  4. I love the way you describe your images in words, too. Also glad to hear I’m not the only person who thinks he only gets a handful of “acceptable” photos a day, no matter how many I shoot. Working on that. Thanks for inspiring.

    • Thanks for the comment! I really do struggle finding and taking pictures I like, and even the ones I do like are put through a rigorous amount of editing before I’m even remotely happy with them. I shall also be working on improving the amount of good photos I take when I’m out. Thanks again for stopping by man!

let me know what you think

